← Back to SD2 - Structure Deck: Zombie Madness
Creature Swap - SD2-EN020 - Common - 1st Edition
: Rulings powered by The Netrep API. 'Creature Swap' does not target. The monsters are chosen when its effect resolves
, not when 'Creature Swap' is activated. The opponent cannot chain 'Fairy's Hand Mirror'
, 'Riryoku Field'
, or 'Shift' to 'Creature Swap' because it does not target. For the same reason
, 'Lord of D.' does not prevent Dragon-Type monsters from being selected
, and 'Freed the Matchless General' will not negate the effect of 'Creature Swap'. Both players must have at least 1 eligible monster on the field for 'Creature Swap' to be activated. If the opponent chains a card (such as 'Ring of Destruction') to destroy the only monster on one side of the field
, the effect of 'Creature Swap' disappears. Monsters affected by 'Creature Swap' do not return to their owner's control at the end of the turn
, they stay under the opponent's control until removed from the field or a card effect such as 'Remove Brainwashing' says otherwise. The battle position of monsters affected by 'Creature Swap' may be changed by card effects the turn 'Creature Swap' was activated. A player may select a monster that had its battle position changed earlier in the turn (manually or by card effect). A player may select a Monster Token. A player may select a monster Special Summoned by 'Call of the Haunted' or 'Premature Burial'. If the 'Call of the Haunted' or 'Premature Burial'
, still on the opponent's side of the field
, is destroyed
, the monster targeted by those cards is destroyed also. A player may select a monster that is equipped with 'Snatch Steal'. The original owner of the creature
, who now controls the creature again
, will still gain 1000 Life Points each turn from the opponent's 'Snatch Steal' card as long as it remains on the field. A player may activate 'Change of Heart' to gain control of an opponent's monster
, and then activate 'Creature Swap' and select that monster to return to the opponent. At the end of the turn
, the monster targeted by 'Change of Heart' does not switch sides again since it is already on the owner's side of the field. [Re: Amazoness Tiger] If both players have a face-up 'Amazoness Tiger' and you give your opponent your 'Amazoness Tiger' with 'Creature Swap'
, then your 'Amazoness Tiger' is destroyed. [Re: Amazoness Tiger] If both players give their 'Amazoness Tigers' to each other with 'Creature Swap'
, neither is destroyed. [Re: Big Shield Gardna] A face-down 'Big Shield Gardna' can only negate a Spell Card that targets 1 face-down monster
, so it cannot negate 'Riryoku'
, 'Creature Swap' or 'Dark Hole'
, but could negate 'Nobleman of Crossout' or 'Tribute to the Doomed'. [Re: Blindly Loyal Goblin] Neither player can activate 'Creature Swap' if the only monster you control is 'Blindly Loyal Goblin'. If you control 'Blindly Loyal Goblin' and 1 other monster when 'Creature Swap' is activated
, you must select the other monster. [Re: D.D.M. - Different Dimension Master] 'D.D.M. - Different Dimension Master' can Special Summon monsters in the 'removed zone' of its controller. If your opponent controls your monster because of 'Creature Swap' and it is removed from play
, you can Special Summon it with 'D.D.M. - Different Dimension Master' because it is in your removed zone. When the effect of 'D.D.M. - Different Dimension Master' is used
, the target monster is Special Summoned to the field of the player who controls 'D.D.M. - Different Dimension Master'. [Re: Dark Fusion] When you Special Summon a Fiend-Type Fusion Monster with 'Dark Fusion' and during the same turn control of the Fiend-Type Fusion Monster is shifted to your opponent (with 'Creature Swap'
, your opponent still cannot target that Fiend-Type Fusion Monster with the effects of Spell
, or Monster Cards until the end of the turn
, even though they now control the Fiend-Type Fusion Monster. [Re: Dramatic Rescue] You can activate 'Dramatic Rescue' when an Amazoness on your side of the field is targeted
, such as with any Equip Spell Card
, 'Tribute to the Doomed'
, 'Trap Hole'
, 'Man-Eater Bug'
, 'Dark Cat with White Tail'
, 'Amazoness Spellcaster'
, 'Penguin Soldier' (even if it targets 2 monsters)
, 'Change of Heart'
, 'Ring of Destruction'
, 'XYZ Dragon Cannon'
, etc. But not when cards like 'Raigeki'
, 'Dark Hole'
, 'Mirror Force'
, 'Creature Swap'
, 'Guardian Sphinx'
, 'Bottomless Trap Hole'
, 'Adhesive Trap Hole'
, etc. are used. [Re: Dummy Golem] If control of monsters switches with 'Dummy Golem'
, it stays switched as long as the cards remain on the field. (Like 'Creature Swap'.) [Re: Embodiment of Apophis] If your opponent has no vacant Spell & Trap Card Zones
, you cannot give them 'Embodiment of Apophis' for 'Creature Swap'. If 'Embodiment of Apophis' is your only monster in such a case
, neither player can activate 'Creature Swap'. [Re: Embodiment of Apophis] If your opponent controls your 'Embodiment of Apophis' as a monster with 'Snatch Steal' or 'Creature Swap'
, and it is flipped face-down
, it goes to your opponent's Spell & Trap Card Zone because he is the controller. [Re: Embodiment of Apophis] If your opponent controls your 'Embodiment of Apophis' as a monster with 'Snatch Steal'
, and 'Jinzo' is Summoned
, it returns to your Spell & Trap Card Zone and remains there meaninglessly. If your opponent controls your 'Embodiment of Apophis' as a monster because of 'Creature Swap'
, and 'Jinzo' is Summoned
, it is placed on your opponent's Spell & Trap Card Zone and remains there meaninglessly. [Re: Freed the Matchless General] The effect of this card will not negate ''Creature Swap''
, ''Smashing Ground''
, ''Dark Hole''
, or similar Spell Cards that do not target. [Re: Guardian Kay'est] If 'Guardian Kay'est' and another monster are selected for 'Creature Swap''s effect
, 'Creature Swap''s effect is negated because switching is impossible. [Re: Non-Spellcasting Area] While 'Non-Spellcasting Area' is active
, and only one player has Effect Monsters on the field
, you can activate 'Creature Swap' but its effect will be negated because none of the non-Effect Monsters can switch control due to a Spell Card's effect. [Re: Remove Brainwashing] When 'Remove Brainwashing' is already active on the field and a switching effect is activated
, or 'Remove Brainwashing' is chained to a switching effect and is thus active before the switching effect resolves
, control switches due to the effect but then switches back to the original owner because of 'Remove Brainwashing'. So for 'Creature Swap'
, control is changed but then control goes back to the original owners. This means that if you give control of 'Griggle' or 'Ameba' to your opponent
, their effect IS activated even though 'Griggle'/'Ameba' then returns to the original owner's control afterwards. [Re: Remove Brainwashing] If 'Remove Brainwashing' is destroyed
, control does not revert again
, so if I activate 'Change of Heart' and my opponent chains 'Remove Brainwashing'
, control of the monster comes to me and then reverts to my opponent. Then
, later in the turn
, if 'Remove Brainwashing' is destroyed with 'Heavy Storm'
, control does not revert back to me and remains with the original owner. (The same for 'Creature Swap'
, etc.) [Re: Ryu Senshi] The effect of this card will not negate 'Creature Swap'
, 'Smashing Ground'
, 'Dark Hole'
, or similar cards that do not target. [Re: Spirit Reaper] Examples of cards that will not destroy 'Spirit Reaper' because they do not target: 'Creature Swap'
, 'Adhesion Trap Hole'
, 'Spear Dragon'. [Re: Trojan Blast] You can activate 'Trojan Blast' when a face-down monster shifts
, such as with 'Creature Swap'. But no damage will be inflicted because it was face-down.
: Structure Deck
: Both players select 1 monster from their respective sides of the field and switch control of those monsters with each other. The selected monsters cannot change their battle positions this turn.
: Normal Spell
: Creature Swap