Penguin Soldier - 5DS2-EN009 - Common - 1st Edition
Near Mint, English, 1 in stock
Card Rules: Rulings powered by The Netrep API. You may choose to return 0, 1, or 2 monsters to their owners' hands. You may target Monster Tokens, and they will be taken off the field, instead of returning to the hand. Spirit Monsters can still be returned to their owners' hands by the effect of 'Penguin Soldier' even if 'Spiritual Energy Settle Machine' is in play. [Re: Amazoness Chain Master] If you get your opponent's monster with 'Amazoness Chain Master' and it's placed on the field, and later returned to the hand with 'Penguin Soldier', it returns to the original owner's hand. [Re: Chain Disappearance] If you use 'Chain Disappearance' in response to a Flip Summon, any Flip Effects like 'Penguin Soldier' would still resolve. The Flip Effect is Step 1 of the chain, and 'Chain Disappearance' is step 2. [Re: Chaos Command Magician] When 'Penguin Soldier' targets 2 monsters, including 'Chaos Command Magician', this is an effect targets, but not one that select '1 target'. So 'Chaos Command Magician' will not negate the effect of 'Penguin Soldier'. However, if 'Penguin Soldier' only targets 'Chaos Command Magician', then it is an effect that selects '1 target' so 'Chaos Command Magician' WILL negate the effect of 'Penguin Soldier'. [Re: Cyber Phoenix] 'Cyber Phoenix's' Continuous Effect will not negate cards that have 2 targets, such as 'Penguin Soldier' or 'Mystic Box'. [Re: Dark Magician of Chaos] When 'Dark Magician of Chaos' is sent to your hand by 'Penguin Soldier', it is removed from play instead. [Re: Dramatic Rescue] You can activate 'Dramatic Rescue' when an Amazoness on your side of the field is targeted, such as with any Equip Spell Card, 'Tribute to the Doomed', 'Trap Hole', 'Man-Eater Bug', 'Relinquished', 'Dark Cat with White Tail', 'Amazoness Spellcaster', 'Penguin Soldier' (even if it targets 2 monsters), 'Change of Heart', 'Ring of Destruction', 'XYZ Dragon Cannon', etc. But not when cards like 'Raigeki', 'Dark Hole', 'Mirror Force', 'Fissure', 'Creature Swap', 'Guardian Sphinx', 'Bottomless Trap Hole', 'Adhesive Trap Hole', etc. are used. [Re: Embodiment of Apophis] When 'Embodiment of Apophis' is a monster, and is returned to the hand by 'Penguin Soldier', etc., it is returned as a Trap Card. So you cannot activate 'Major Riot'. [Re: Spirit Reaper] 'Spirit Reaper' is only destroyed by its own effect if it is face-up on the field when the effect designating it as a target activates, AND after the effect designating it as a target resolves. If you Special Summon 'Spirit Reaper' with Monster Reborn, or flip it face-down with 'Book of Moon', or flip it face-up with 'Book of Taiyou', it is not destroyed. If a face-down 'Spirit Reaper' is targeted with 'Change of Heart', then Flip Summoned, it is not destroyed because it was face-down when 'Change of Heart' was activated. If 'Spirit Reaper' is targeted by the effect of 'Relinquished', 'Spirit Reaper' is an Equip Spell Card after the effect of 'Relinquished' resolves, so it is not destroyed. If 'Spirit Reaper' is removed from play with 'Dimensionhole' or 'Interdimensional Matter Transporter' or 'Different Dimension Gate', then it is removed from play so it is not destroyed. If 'Spirit Reaper' is shuffled into the Deck with 'Monster Recovery', it's not destroyed. If 'Spirit Reaper' is returned to the hand with 'Penguin Soldier', it's not destroyed. [Re: Spirit's Invitation] The effect of this card is applied even when a Spirit Monster is returned to its owner's hand by the effect of another card, such as 'Penguin Soldier'. [Re: Spiritual Energy Settle Machine] When this card is active, Spirit Monsters may still be returned to their owner's hands by card effects such as 'Penguin Soldier' and 'Compulsory Evacuation Device'. [Re: Spring of Rebirth] You gain 500 Life Points each time a monster or monsters on the field are returned to their owner's hand. So if 'Penguin Soldier' returns two monsters at once, you only gain 500 Life Points. [Re: Thunder Nyan Nyan] If you have a face-up 'Thunder Nyan Nyan' and your Set 'Penguin Soldier' is attacked, when it is flipped face-up 'Thunder Nyan Nyan' will be destroyed, before it can be targeted by the effect of 'Penguin Soldier'.
Set: 5D's Starter Deck 2009
Card Number: 5DS2-EN009
Monster Type: Aqua
Card Text: FLIP: You can return up to 2 Monster Cards from the field to the owner's hand.
Card Type: Effect Monster
Name: Penguin Soldier